35th Independent Spirit Awards

CJ @ The Movies

Before the Oscars, We Got the Indies!

The Independent Spirit Awards is a tribute to the best artisan films to have come out the same year (almost the same year), and this will be my first time providing you the winners.

Best Feature: “The Farewell”

Best Director: The Safdie Brothers for “Uncut Gems”

Best Male Lead: Adam Sandler in “Uncut Gems”

Best Female Lead: Renee Zellweger in “Judy”

Best Supporting Male: Willem Dafoe in “The Lighthouse”

Best Supporting Female: Zhao Shu-zhen in “The Farewell”

Best Screenplay: Noah Baumbach for “Marriage Story”

Best First Screenplay: Fredrica Bailey and Stefon Bristol for “See You Yesterday”

Best First Feature: Olivia Wilde for “Booksmart”

Best Documentary Feature: “American Factory”

Best Cinematography: Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse”

Best Editing: Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie for “Uncut Gems”

Best International Film: “Parasite”

The John Cassavetes Award: “Give Me Liberty”

The Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble): “Marriage Story”

Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award: Rashaad Eernesto Green for “Premature” 

The BONNIE Award: Kelly Reichardt

Piaget Producers Award: Mollye Asher

Truer Than Fiction Award: Nadua Shihab for “Jaddoland”

You have to appreciate the little things in life people, and that’s why we have these awards.


Categories: Award Winners

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: